Throughout the world, priests, deacons, religious, and seminarians stop 5 times each day to pray the Liturgy of the Hours. This is in response to God’s call through Paul to “pray without ceasing.” In the Liturgy of the Hours, we sanctify the entire day.

The hours go like this:

  • Morning Prayer (Lauds): As close to dawn as you are awake
  • Daytime Prayer: One of three, midmorning, midday, or midafternoon
  • Evening Prayer (Vespers): Around sunset
  • Night Prayer (Compline): Just before bed
  • Office of Readings: Anytime during the day

Morning and Evening Prayer are the two “hinge prayers” of the day. If you choose to pray some portion of the Liturgy of the Hours, these should be the first you add in. Do what you can, or, if you can’t, don’t.The order of the prayers goes something like this. (Luckily, the version I’m putting here allows you to pretty much just read through, so you don’t have to learn all this.)

  1. Call to Prayer
  2. Three Psalms (or two psalms and a canticle) with antiphons
  3. Readings
  4. Gospel Canticle
  5. Intercessions
  6. Lord’s Prayer
  7. Closing Prayer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *